Cake Pops!

Anyone that knows me very well knows that I LOVE cake! Imagine my delight to stumble across a new way (for me) to have cake – in the form of cake pops. I knew right away that I had to try it, so here is how it went. One thing I need to know is why hasn’t anyone told me about them before now??!!

First, you know how everything looks great in pictures, but doesn’t always come out the way you think it will, this is what happened. I didn’t have high hopes, my goal was to just make simple cake pops – like this…

I didn’t think that was asking too much, I wasn’t trying to get fancy – like this…

Anyway, I got the directions and started to work on them. Putting them together was very easy – bake a cake, crumble it up, stir in frosting – so far all is good. I think my confidence ran away with me and I was feeling pretty good. The last step is to roll the balls in the coating, should have been the easy part but it wasn’t. The coating I used was too thick and the balls just didn’t want to roll, flow, or coat with goodness at all. I ended up kind of scooping the topping on, throwing them into the cups and hoping for the best.

Now you can compare mine to the original pictures, so sad. The good news is that they are still yummy, especially if you close your eyes before eating. If anyone has done this before, please let me know what you have used for a coating so that I can try again!

Leave a Reply

